Blog Post Number Oscar Noms

I found out the Oscar nominations while watching Fast and Furious 6.

I feel like that’s taboo. Not just talking about the Oscars (although I feel like most writer blogs don’t even give movies the time of day,) but actually admitting that I like the Fast and Furious movies. It’s like a dirty secret in Hollywood, we know those movies get made, mostly for money, but we don’t dare admit to watching something the general populous, the “peasants” who care nothing for “the cinema,” enjoys. It’s all Wolf of Wall Street and Dallas Buyers Club for us out here in La La Land. (OK. I loved Dallas Buyers.)

But not only will I admit to liking award shows and the fancy movies with their fancy people glittering across the screen like long dead stars just out of reach, I will also admit to liking the Summer Blockbusters.

My favorite movie of 2013 was Iron Man 3. Not just because SUPERHEROES or because my dad flew all the way from Florida to share it with me. No, IM3 was my favorite movie because of how the story touched my heart. It explained the nature of people, or myself, in a way I could understand.

I’m not asking YOU to like Iron Man 3. But that would have been my vote for best picture (or Short Term 12).

So I watch Fast and Furious. My big plans this weekend are to watch the new Jack Ryan movie. And my dad is flying out again for Captain America. These movies continue to mean the world to me, despite popular opinion downgrading them as nothing but entertainment fluff. Because popular opinion isn’t nearly as important so long as you have affected one person with your story.

1 thought on “Blog Post Number Oscar Noms

  1. “Because popular opinion isn’t nearly as important so long as you have affected one person with your story.”

    REALLY love that.

Leave a comment